Reply to Beaton’s “Of Dem Loot and Silhouettes”

Daddy Hope got to be one of the most stubborn and passionate people I know. Passionate about social justice of course, don’t get me wrong there. I’ve been a silent follower of his and more times than once I have questioned people in my circle why he keeps fighting a system that continuosly clips his wings. I could do with a little of his boldness and courage. Calling out truths for what they are and not hiding behind metaphors like what we most writers do.

The man never ceases to amaze me, so he came out of prison with a newly found passion…singing. Is he a talented rapper? You decide, he has two versions of “Dem Loot” the Shona and the English version. Listen to both and choose what tickles your fancy. I went through the comments on his Twitter posts and someone suggested that he comes up with an IsiNdebele version. I will bet my 2 cents, Daddy Hope is probably learning the language right now. My Ndebele friends, brace up for a version of the song in your own language. Someone please tell Daddy that we are rooting for him.

I said this was a response to Becoming the muse’s post. He said something interesting in his post. I will not quote him verbatim but he said, with the Dem Loot challenge gaining popularity, it’s only a matter of time before the “Loot Government” decides that singing that song is now a crime. I must say I totally agree with him. It’s not surprising to hear that a few youths were together with the Dem Loot founding father were arrested… well, let’s hope that doesn’t happen. With the dance challenges already there, the cover versions, I liked one from Miss Vera, I’d be happier if Daddy gets into the studio and give us a polished piece, meanwhile; Dem Loot, Dem Loot, Dem Loot, Dem Loot. If you’re not nodding your head right now, you’re an unfocused youth lol.

From the future

Becoming the muse, had an interesting view of the silhouette challenge. In his latest post he says,once you see a red light and hear the song, “out your head on my shoulder…” Promptly go and exorcise the spirit of the red light. The challenge has taken over the social media streets and I have seen people exchanging harsh words over that challenge. One of the nastiest comments I saw was of a Zimbabwean man saying that Zim women living in Zim should leave these challenges to Zim women living abroad because these local women will embarrass the nation. It became a heated argument but bottom line is most local Huns cannot compete with the other women living abroad because the beuatifying resources are scarce and expensive locally…”DEM LOOT”

I personally feel that there are levels to these challenges. Maybe it’s just me but for grown adults gyrating and writhing in the dark with red lights for likes seems a little off for me. Aren’t there other better challenges that you will be proud of say ten years from now? Like I said, it’s just my opinion and people are different, you will probably be proud of your silhouette challenge in your 60s if that’s the case, bravo! Take it off mami and get that red light!

I dread this month, it’s like there are flowers and chocolates and gifts for valentine’s everywhere. I think I will avoid the social media till it’s done. Well I don’t envy the chocolates I don’t eat those anymore-fitness goals, but side note to my secret admirer, please get me nice fitness gifts like a physical exercise wrist band, dumbbells, resistance bands, yoga mat and all the nice things…last year my secret admirer just got me flowers. Please come out in the open I need to thank you….it’s weird how I’m always single during my birthday and the valentine’s Day.

This was for “Becoming the muse!”

Leave a comment